top of page

Marvellous Realms

Bill Nelson

album - 13 January 2023

Marvellous Realms - Cover
Marvellous Realms Flyer 2
Bill Nelson Marvellous Realms Promo 1
Marvellous Realms Alarm Clock
Bill Nelson Marvellous Realms Promo 2
Marvellous Realms Light Bulb Balloon
Bill Nelson Marvellous Realms Promo 3
Marvellous Realms Flyer 1


01)  Nevernoon

02)  Marvellous Realms

03)  The Way Of The World

04)  The Gold Beyond The Blue

05)  The Weather Song

06)  Signalling As We Go

07)  Some Jiggery Pokery

08)  Here On Earth

09)  Whoops! I'm Going Back In Time

10)  It's A Long Time Between Dreams

11)  The Mystic

12)  Imaginary Music

13)  The Illuminator

14)  Heaven Is A State Of Mind

15)  A Thought In Passing

16)  Your Magic Man In The Sky

17)  Bonus Track:  The Weather Song (Monitor Mix)


Marvellous Realms is an album comprising a mixture of song based and instrumental material issued on the Sonoluxe label in a limited edition of 1000 copies.

The bulk of the material was recorded between November 2021 and May 2022, initially being seen as a natural follow up to Mixed Up Kid.

The first mention of the album, then called 'Man of Dreams', came in a Dreamsville Forum post on 18 December 2021. At this early stage Nelson had completed all but a couple of tracks for the proposed album, and in a follow up forum post, on 28 December 2021, went as far as saying that the album was "almost complete" promising a track listing soon. However, as with many of his projects, time would see those plans significantly change over the next six months or so.

On 5 January 2022, in a further forum post Nelson revealed a list of thirteen songs destined for 'Man of Dreams', while also stating that the album title may change. Nelson decided that 'Man of Dreams' was too similar to his 1987 release Map of Dreams and suggested that two alternative titles, 'All the Fun of the Fair' or 'Signalling As We Go', were now being considered.

From that initial list of tracks, just three would make it to the completed album... 'Some Jiggery Pokery', 'Signalling As We Go' and 'The Weather Song'.

Further details emerged in a Dreamsville Forum post on 11 March 2022 in which Nelson announced that the 'Man of Dreams' album had developed into two separate projects, Marvellous Realms being the first album, and a second then called 'Here on Earth'. A total of 33 tracks were listed as being currently recorded and mixed for the project with no indication at that stage as to what tracks would feature where. Comparing this list with the final track running order reveals that a total of seven songs would make the final cut of Marvellous Realms

Further progress on the album was reported on 1 June 2022, when Nelson posted in the Dreamsville Journal that he had by then completed a total of 53 tracks from the new album projects, again without revealing what tracks would appear where. In fact, he had by then completed a total of 13 tracks that would eventually make up the Marvellous Realms album, the remaining three tracks - 'Heaven Is A State Of Mind', 'A Thought In Passing' and 'Your Magic Man In The Sky', being completed in the intervening months. 


Marvellous Realms was mastered at Fairview Studios by John Spence week commencing 21 November 2022 with the artwork, prepared by Martin Bostock as usual, already underway.

Pre-orders for Marvellous Realms were announced by Burning Shed on 2 December 2022, with a release date for both the physical CD and Bandcamp digital download on 13 January 2023.



Available for purchase here in the Dreamsville Store.




"Marvellous Realms emerges from another intensive, almost perpetual, recording session. The studio is my favoured outlet for my creative endeavours (and perhaps has always been so), especially having now forsaken live performances due to various unwelcome health concerns .

Creating music in my modest home studio is an absolute joy, never a chore. I'm constantly exploring an evolving and very personal universe of sounds, concepts, thoughts and whimsical imaginings. Dreaming whilst awake perhaps, ongoing real time fantasias, embracing both the past and the future with equal enthusiasm.

From the latest batch of 80 or so new recordings comes this album, Marvellous Realms, a meditation on time and impermanence, wonder and mystery, magic and melancholy, all familiar themes to those who are attuned to my music, but with their own peculiar twist and distinctive flavour.

So, sit back and enjoy the view, on the musical journey that never ends…"

bottom of page