top of page

The Best of and the Rest of Be Bop Deluxe

retrospective collection - December 1978

Be Bop Deluxe

Best Of and The Rest Of cover


A1)  Axe Victim  

A2)  Maid In Heaven

A3)  Music In Dreamland

A4)  Sister Seagull  

A5)  Sleep That Burns

A6)  Ships In The Night

B1)  Blazing Apostles  

B2)  Kiss Of Light  

B3)  Dance Of The Uncle Sam Humanoids  

B4)  Forbidden Lovers  

B5)  Panic In The World

​​C1)  Blimps  

C2)  Autosexual  

C3)  Lovers Are Mortal

C4)  Shine  

C5)  Quest For The Harvest Of The Stars

D1)  Japan  

D2)  Speed Of The Wind

D3)  Lights  

D4)  Blue As A Jewel  

D5)  Face In The Rain  

D6)  Futurist Manifesto


The Best of and the Rest of Be Bop Deluxe is a double album that brilliantly brought together an album of highlights taken from the band's five studio albums and an album of rarities, including at the time of release, 6 previously unreleased tracks and 5 non album 'A' side or 'B' side cuts. Housed in a wonderfully illustrated gatefold sleeve with inner sleeves bearing lyrics and musician credits for all tracks, the album was a fitting tribute to a band that had bowed out less than six months earlier.

Despite a number of subsequent reissues and archive releases issued since this impressive collection first appeared, one of the previously unreleased tracks, "Face in the Rain", remained exclusive to this set right up until Esoteric Recordings produced their super-deluxe box sets.

The rest of the rarities have re-appeared first as bonus cuts on the Be Bop Deluxe albums when released on CD in 1991, and more recently on the Futurist Manifesto 1974-1978 box set issued in 2012.



16 of the 22 tracks on this compilation album had originally appeared spread across the band's five albums and four of the band's 7" singles issued on Harvest between 1974 and 1978. See individual entries of those albums and singles for full details.


This compilation is now out of print.

bottom of page